Book Review: A Conjuring of Light

Book Review: A Conjuring of Light

Title: A Conjuring of Light
Author: V.E. Schwab
Rating: 5/5 owls
Book available in Book Depository

Text_divider_long_16

Avan bookowls!

My reading journey with the Shades of Magic trilogy was nothing short of wonderful. I remember reading the first few pages of A Darker Shade of Magic and I knew that it was just the right book for me. There are books that are good, there are books that you enjoy, but there are books that you just couldn’t get enough of. Those that you daydream about, those that you became too immersed in their world that you imagine yourself a part of it, you keep thinking of the what ifs and their life after the ending.

Reading Shades of Magic was just like that. I know it will always be different with every reader, but for me, it was just awesome with every sense of the word. I’ve included this trilogy in my go-to list. Those books that I return to, those books that I know that I will re-read. I read book 1 and 2 on an ebook. But I’m planning to buy the hardback copies of the three books for my collection because I know I will definitely re-read them from time to time.

This book is 624 pages long, yet I feel I could have finished it in just two or three days (like how I finished ADSOM and AGOS) if not for my incessant headache. It was frustrating I tell you, I kept imagining about their world, and for a moment I was contemplating on reading again despite of what I was feeling.

But I’m too scared for my headache to get worse. So I rested my not so cooperating brain, and left Kell and Lila for a while.

When I finally got better, I got busy from work and other grown-up stuff (Adulting again ugh), so it took me three months before I finally got the chance to sit down and finish this book. 3 months?? What the fudge??!!

But yeah, when it’s Adulting I’m fighting with, sometimes it just defeats me outright. Well, the defeated can always stand up and fight again. It’s a constant struggle! And sometimes, you just let Adulting won you over. Responsibilities and maturity, bah!

Moving on to ACOL guys!! Because I want to forget about reality right now!

The story continues from that cliffhanger in A Gathering of Shadows which I think thrown most of the readers into complete frustration. Oh I can just imagine the agonizing wait! Luckily for me, the moment I finished AGOS, Mel had already lent me her copy of ACOL. So yay!!

I could say that one thing that kept me hooked with this trilogy are the characters. V.E. Schwab introduced us to characters that we’ll love, hate, and relate to sometimes.

I remember not liking Rhy at the first two books. I hated his childish and carefree attitude that kept Kell in trouble most of the time. But here in the third book, I was amazed with his bravery (although his ‘curse’ highly contributed to it) . Even without possessing magical abilities, he threw himself into dangerous situations and proven himself worthy of his title.

I already liked Lila and Alucard in the previous books. And I still like them here. I don’t know but I find their banters just fun to read.

Kell was the one I cannot connect with in the first two books. I feel that I don’t really know much about how he feels. But maybe I wasn’t paying attention, I’m not really sure. He’s the main character! What’s wront with me?? Ehh? But here in the third book, I think I became more connected to Kell.

And Holland!

Oh how will I even start with precious Holland??

Ugh, I don’t know guys, but I thought that my favorite character in this series was Lila but when I read the last book, I—I cannot help it!

I guess I have to toss you aside Lila dearest, because my heart is already with Holland!

I love the fact that he’s a villain in the first and second book, and how he was transformed into something else in the third book. But what’s surprising is that even if he was a villain in the first two books, I did not hate him. I was more angry at the king and queen of Arnes! Haha

Holland was such a poor, poor soul, with so much power in his hands which he doesn’t even want.  Even if he did such nasty things in the past (he killed many souls in his lifetime) your heart will ache for him!

He was just a victim of circumstances, which if were not given to him, he would be a whole different person. I somehow predicted what he will do at the end, but I still think he did not deserve it! It wasn’t fair for him. He deserves so much better!

The writing was so good. It was such an evocative and lyrical writing. I could feel the character’s emotions and struggles that I sometimes feel that I’m a part of them. It wasn’t the same with Erin Morgentern’s detailed writing which I really love but I could say that they are on the same level.

With writing styles such as this I could easily be swept into their world, and sometimes it’s such a struggle to leave.

Aside from the writing style, the world building was so unique. And even in the third book, I still find myself dazzled with the intricacy of multiple Londons. Of how one London is similar yet so much different from the rest. Also the wonderdul and quite strange countries of Arnes, Faro and Vesk. And the unknown lands beyond that. I could just imagine how difficult it is to create a single world. And V.E. Schwab created four. Just wow.

Although I could say that I somehow predicted some parts of the plot, I still found myself gripping the edge of my seat at the battle scenes.

And the complexity of fighting a villain so powerful such as Osaron is somehow frightening. The thought that it can bend your will is so dreadful. It was just fitting for the magical worlds Schwab has created.

Throughout my reading journey, I was just simply enjoying myself. With every banter, every twist, and oh the flashbacks! I just love them all!

The ending was the ending I wanted. Oh I am just so happy at how it was handled, well except for Holland, I just think that my dear Holland deserved so much better.

But I think I have accepted it. What happened was needed in the story. So yeah I think I can forgive V.E. Schwab for the heartache she has given me.

And I feel so happy for Kell, Lila, Rhy and Alucard… The last few pages was so emotional..

I think this series will be my second most favorite fantasy series (next to Harry Potter).

Why not? When it is this good.

This deserves more than 5 owls if you ask me, but our ratings are only up to 5, so… yeah.

Autumn Owls Clipart 5Autumn Owls Clipart 5Autumn Owls Clipart 5Autumn Owls Clipart 5Autumn Owls Clipart 5

Anoshe my friends.

Because this is not goodbye, I will still go back to these books whenever I want an escape from reality.

I’ll just visit Lila and Kell’s world like a summer home full of magic, wonder, and possibilities..

sign-jon copy

Text_divider_long_16

Favorite quotes from A Conjuring of Light:

Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe.  Anoshe brought solace. And hope. And the strength to let go.

Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you.

Caring was a thing with claws. It sank them in, and didn’t let go. Caring hurt more than a knife to the leg, more than a few broken ribs, more than anything that bled or broke and healed again. Caring didn’t break you clean. It was a bone that didn’t set, a cut that wouldn’t close.

A myth without a voice is like a dandelion without a breath of wind. No way to spread the seeds.”

— V.E. Schwab

Text_divider_long_16

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Conjuring of Light

  1. I am trying real hard not to read the Shades of Magic reviews before I start with the series in fear of spoilers. 😂😂
    But yay!! You finished it already!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah mel!! Better not to read any review to avoid spoilers 😊😊😊 I guess I may have a bit of spoilers in my review..I’m not sure if those can be counted as spoilers. But not so much I think. I hate spoilers too hehehe

    Like

Leave a comment