Book Review: A Monster Calls

Book Review: A Monster Calls

a monster calls
Title:  A Monster Calls
Author:  Patrick Ness
Rating:  5/5 owls
Book available in Book Depository

Text_divider_long_16

“Stories are wild creatures. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?”

Hi, owlish peeps! How’s your 2018 so far, guys? Good ol’ Mel is back from the grave and I am so excited to post bookish ramblings!

Sorry we’ve been MIA for so long. There had been significant changes in my workplace at the start of the year and I haven’t been able to write to my heart’s content. But we’re finally settled and back! Jon and I have joined the Goodreads’ Reading Challenge, so we’re hoping we’ll be able to upload more reviews and bookish posts soon. Yay!

So, now onto my very first book review for 2018!

This review is actually a bit overdue because I finished reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness some time ago.

But the problem with trying to write a review for a book that I absolutely freaking loved, wanting to give it the justice it so deserves—is that I find it a little hard. I honestly just want to come up to people, holding the book close to my chest, and say three words: “Just. Read. It.”

A Monster Calls is a beautifully-written and moving tale about a boy named Conor, his struggles as he dealt with life after his Mom was diagnosed with cancer, and the monster that visited him seven minutes past midnight, wanting the truth.

It was a short read, just 215 pages, with dark illustrations in-between that perfectly set the mood (the illustrated paperback copy is worth every penny). But though short, it contained a world full of wonder, of sadness, of realizations, and after reading it, I couldn’t help but space out for a while, tears in my eyes.

This was such an incredible story, and my heart still aches just thinking about it.

I have so much love for the characters, for everything about the whole book, really.  It was like nothing I’ve read before. The cleverness and twists of the monster’s tales were brilliant, too. The emotions, far too real. I just think it’s amazing, from the idea of Siobhan Dowd, and the plot, of Patrick Ness’ execution of it, the narrative, down to Jim Kay’s haunting illustrations.

It’s a gripping story of loss and anger, of grief and fear, of acceptance and letting go. It was unpredictable, too, which just made me love it all the more. And throughout, I could feel the pain and the pent-up anger inside Conor. And I understood him. The thought of losing someone you love is terrible and painful. Of suddenly finding yourself alone, feeling yourself isolated from the others. And then, there’s that fear slowly swallowing the crumbs of hope in your heart.

You’ll be sucked in by the storytelling.

Patrick Ness captured the perspective of a kid, Conor, with a tinge of humor, and there were times when I actually found myself chuckling, despite knowing the main conflict of the story. Especially so during the interaction between the monster and Conor, when the latter interrupts the monster’s tales, like this:

“You’re as old as the land and you’ve never heard of sarcasm?”

I have watched the movie before reading the book (though I really wish I hadn’t), but even then, I was still surprised at how the story unfolded. The end just hurt, as it was supposed to. And it did hurt; it does. Oh god, it does. But then, there was just something peaceful in the ending, too.

I honestly just love the whole book. It was an amazing reading experience. The kind that leaves you staring out after the last word, thoughts running in your head, chest aching. The kind that breaks your heart and then, helps you pick up the pieces in the end.

I am not really one for tears when it comes to books. Movies and drama series, I admit, make me cry very often, what with all the suffering and crying people’s faces on the screen and heartbreaking background music. But books… books haven’t really made me cry much.

But boy, this one did. First book I’ve read by Patrick Ness, and I am sure it definitely is not going to be the last.

If you guys liked the movie, I am pretty sure you’re going to love the book. And if you haven’t read the book yet, please remedy that and read it. I cannot recommend it enough. Five out of five owls.

A Monster Calls is such an amazing, heart-wrenching tale, too beautiful for words, and I want you to see and feel it for yourself.

Just. Read. It.

Autumn Owls Clipart 6.pngAutumn Owls Clipart 6.pngAutumn Owls Clipart 6.pngAutumn Owls Clipart 6.pngAutumn Owls Clipart 6.png

‘Til the next review folks!

sign-mel copy

Text_divider_long_16

Quotes from A Monster Calls

“‘But what is a dream, Conor O’Malley? Who is to say that it is not everything else that is the dream?'”

“‘Sometimes people need to lie to themselves most of all.'”

“As incredible as it seemed, time kept moving forward for the rest of the world. The rest of the world that wasn’t waiting.”

“Your mind will believe comforting lies while also knowing the painful truth that make those lies necessary. And your mind will punish you for believing both.”

“You do not write your life with words. You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.”

“Stories are wild creatures. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?”

— Patrick Ness

Text_divider_long_16

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Monster Calls

  1. A monster calls! What a powerful tale! And you did a great job on this review Tin! You’re right, this is just so good that words seem to fail us. My goodreads review for this tale is so short because I don’t what to say. Hands down for Patrick Ness and Siobhan Dowd 😊😊😊😊

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment